[Stacking The Shelves #6] July 2015 Bookhaul

STACKINGIMG_4439These books were all purchased within the month of July, and most of these books are from Fully Booked, specifically from their SM Megamall branch. I don’t know if you guys are aware, but their branch had this 20% off sale last July, and I, obviously, took advantage of it. I took the chance to complete the Throne of Glass series and buy some new romantic contemporary books! Below are some details about my haul.

  1. Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Mass – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP855.00
  2. Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Mass – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP874.00
  3. Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Mass – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP874.00
  4. The Assassin’s Blade by Sarah J. Mass – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP874.00
  5. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Mass – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP874.00
  6. An Ember in The Ashes by Sabaa Tahir – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP899.00
  7. Emmy & Oliver by Robin Benway – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP684.00
  8. Last Year’s Mistake by Gina Ciocca – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP684.00
  9. All The Bright Places by Jennifer Niven – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP432.00 (I KNOW, RIGHT?!)
  10. The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP684.00
  11. The Last Letter from Your Lover by Jojo Moyes – Trade Paperback, from Fully Booked –PhP640.00
  12. Ship of Brides by Jojo Moyes – Trade Paperback, from Fully Booked –PhP640.00
  13. My Heart and Other Blackholes by Jasmine Warga – Trade Paperback, from Fully Booked –PhP399.00

IMG_4901These, on the other hand, are the books I brought home from the #BookwormsUnite last July 26. (Here’s a recap of that event)

  1. ARC of What We Saw by Aaron Hartzler
  2. Losing Faith by Denise Jaden
  3. Home Away From Home by Lorna J. Cook
  4. A Swoon Reads Sampler from Hazel of Stay Bookish
  5. Alex As Well by Alyssa Brugman
  6. Fuse by Julianna Baggott

IMG_4923Lastly, these two bright red books came in late for my monthly haul.

  1. Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli – Hardbound, from Fully Booked –PhP684.00
  2. Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock by Matthew Quick – Trade Paperback, from Powerbooks –PhP399.00

And that concludes my July Bookhaul, and I would personally want to thank the following:

  1. Sir Lester and Ms. Sheila, and all the staff of Fully Booked SM Megamall for extending my reservations of the books I bought from their store;
  2. The donors of the books I got from #BookwormsUnite, which, unfortunately, I haven’t thanked personally yet;
  3. My good friend Aira Sarno for buying my Simon VS. The Homo Sapiens Agenda from that sale in Fully Booked SM North Edsa; and
  4. Rafael Ray Borja of The Royal Polar Bear Reads, for my copy of Forgive Me, Leonard Peacock! You are a generous soul, brother!

That concludes this post! What are your thoughts on the books I hauled? Are there some books you want to buddy read with me? Tell me all about it in the comments below!

FOOTER

[Book Review #39] The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

BOOK REVIEWSIMG_4812

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

Book Specifications:

Author: Lauren Gibaldi

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: No.

Release Date: June 16, 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

No. of Pages: 304 pages

Price: 684.00Php

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Chick Lit, Summer Romance

Book Review:

The Cover: Featuring a silhouette of 4 friends bonding out while witnessing a sunset, the cover of this debut novel by Lauren Gibaldi is totally relevant. I’m a big fan of covers that give readers a peak as to what the story is about, and this is perfect! And I absolutely adore the spunky font style used to etch out the title! Very attractive indeed! (4.5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: The story was, in every way, reminiscent as to how a teenager should feel like when they fall in love for the first time. That’s what it did for me. That’s what got me interested. When I browsed Epic Reads for their Anticipated June Titles, and saw and read the synopsis of this book, I immediately feel connected to it. I experienced the same thing Ella did. I know the feeling of being left behind without prior notice. So I wanted to read this book. And it didn’t disappoint. The story was told in alternating Then and Now Chapters, which I thought at first, was going to confuse me, but it didn’t. The pacing was fast and I had no trouble connecting to the characters and their individual stories. This story is very candid, and it’s a type of book one would recommend to a person who’s just experienced falling in love. And they WILL love it. (4 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.*  Everything is as it should be. For a novel about second chance romance, The Night We Said Yes certainly delivered. Ella found the love of her life. Again. And this time, it looks like Matt intends to stick around. I have to say, it was pretty predictable, but I still loved it nonetheless. What made me so happy to read and finish this book was the fact that not everyone gets a second chance. As per Auburn Mason Reed from Colleen Hoover’s Confess: “Sometimes, things just end.” And I am so glad that Ella and Matt got their second shot at happiness. Everything, as I’ve said earlier, is as it should be. (4 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: I have to admit. The sole reason of my buying, reading, and reviewing this book is because I can relate to the story. I, too, have an experience in having been left behind. The difference is that I didn’t get my second chance. That’s why this book really left a mark on me. I recommend it to those who have had their hearts broken but are still waiting for their second chances. You WILL love this book! (4.17 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“And inside I want to cry because he’s here. And him being here proved it all happened.” – Ella

“I need to get away and try something new. You can only be hurt in a town so many times before giving up on it.” – Ella

” I wanted us to be just the way we were. I needed us to be just the way we were– it was the only thing keeping me together when everything else was going to hell. You were that important to me. You still are.” – Matt

“I’ve spent my life on the road, trying to find home, when really, you were always home to me.” – Matt

“It was my favorite part of the night – when the evening’s events were still unknown and unpredictable. It was the sense of possibility that I loved, the idea that anything could happen next.” – Ella

FOOTER