Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

BFR (3)

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Genre
: YA Contemporary, Diverse, Coming-of-age
Publication: January 16th 2018 from Soho Teen
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 288 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?

Continue reading “Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed”

[Blog Tour Book Review #15] History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera

historyblogtourbanner

When Griffin’s first love and ex-boyfriend, Theo, dies in a drowning accident, his universe implodes. Even though Theo had moved to California for college and started seeing Jackson, Griffin never doubted Theo would come back to him when the time was right. But now, the future he’s been imagining for himself has gone far off course.

To make things worse, the only person who truly understands his heartache is Jackson. But no matter how much they open up to each other, Griffin’s downward spiral continues. He’s losing himself in his obsessive compulsions and destructive choices, and the secrets he’s been keeping are tearing him apart.

If Griffin is ever to rebuild his future, he must first confront his history, every last heartbreaking piece in the puzzle of his life.

Continue reading “[Blog Tour Book Review #15] History Is All You Left Me by Adam Silvera”

[Stacking The Shelves #14] The Post-Graduation Book Haul + A Life Update

img_6422

Stacking the Shelves is a meme from Tynga’s Reviews which aims to showcase our newly acquired books, whether bought, borrowed, or gifted! For more info about this meme, please check this out!

Hi, everyone! It’s been over two months since I last shared a book haul post. I have to say, now that I’m finally a college graduate, I don’t get allowances anymore, and buying books is quite hard when you don’t have the budget for it. (Let’s be honest, it’s quite an expensive addiction, right?) So it took me two months to gather all these hype-worthy books and talk about them here on this book haul post! So anyway, let’s get down to all the books I bought between the months of June and July!

Continue reading “[Stacking The Shelves #14] The Post-Graduation Book Haul + A Life Update”

[Mini Event Recap #15] The Read Proud Twitter Chat

IMG_6335

Last night, I co-hosted the first ever #RPTC, known as the Read Proud Twitter Chat, with my blogging bestie Jasmine of Jasmine Pearl Reads! It was only last week that the Orlando Mass shooting occurred and it is by far the worst mass shooting in America. Being part of the LGBT community, I absolutely felt devastated to know what happened. I could never fully explain just how sad I felt for those who were affected, and we came up with this Twitter chat not only to celebrate Pride Month, but also to uplift everyone’s spirits after the unfortunate incident.

Continue reading “[Mini Event Recap #15] The Read Proud Twitter Chat”

[Book Review #68] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera

img_5997

In his twisty, gritty, profoundly moving debut—called “mandatory reading” by the New York Times—Adam Silvera brings to life a charged, dangerous near-future summer in the Bronx.

In the months after his father’s suicide, it’s been tough for 16-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again–but he’s still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he’s slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.

When Genevieve leaves for a couple of weeks, Aaron spends all his time hanging out with this new guy, Thomas. Aaron’s crew notices, and they’re not exactly thrilled. But Aaron can’t deny the happiness Thomas brings or how Thomas makes him feel safe from himself, despite the tensions their friendship is stirring with his girlfriend and friends. Since Aaron can’t stay away from Thomas or turn off his newfound feelings for him, he considers turning to the Leteo Institute’s revolutionary memory-alteration procedure to straighten himself out, even if it means forgetting who he truly is.

Why does happiness have to be so hard?

Continue reading “[Book Review #68] More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera”