Stacking The Shelves: March 2018

BFR (18)

March is officially over and April is in full swing! I can’t believe we’re already a quarter of a way through with 2018. Last month, I was able to read a total of 7 amazing titles (you may check out the titles I read and loved over at Arctic Books for our March recap), and of course, other than reading through my endless TBR, I also acquired a sh*t ton of exciting new titles! (National Book Store, you’re such an enabler. Thank you for the well-timed Super Summer Sale!) Anyway, without further ado, let’s get this book haul started. We have a lot to cover. *laughs*

Continue reading “Stacking The Shelves: March 2018”

Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

COBB Blog Tour Banner

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Diversity, Magic
Publication: March 6th 2018 by Henry Holt / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Legacy of Orïsha #1.
Length: 600 pages
Format: ARC from Fierce Reads / Macmillan International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Continue reading “Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi”

Event Recap #23: The Third #BookwormsUnitePH Meet-up + Giveaway

img_1878

For three years now, #BookwormsUnitePH has undoubtedly been widely anticipated by bookish Filipinos who live around the metro. And just last Sunday, July 16, I, together with my amazing team of hosts Hazel from Stay Bookish, Miel from Bookish and Awesome, Inah from The Bibliophile Confessions, Jasmine from Jasmine Pearl Reads, and Salve from Cuckoo for Books, once again hosted this lovely event at the Tweedle Book Café, Quezon City!

With the success brought about by last year’s event, of course, WE felt motivated to once again host this exciting shindig to meet up with bookish friends, both old and new, talk to them about our latest and/or favorite reads, and just bond over the passion that literally united us enough to meet that Sunday morning. Continue reading “Event Recap #23: The Third #BookwormsUnitePH Meet-up + Giveaway”

[Book Review #86] Flame In The Mist by Renée Ahdieh

img_1092

The only daughter of a prominent samurai, Mariko has always known she’d been raised for one purpose and one purpose only: to marry. Never mind her cunning, which rivals that of her twin brother, Kenshin, or her skills as an accomplished alchemist. Since Mariko was not born a boy, her fate was sealed the moment she drew her first breath.

So, at just seventeen years old, Mariko is sent to the imperial palace to meet her betrothed, a man she did not choose, for the very first time. But the journey is cut short when Mariko’s convoy is viciously attacked by the Black Clan, a dangerous group of bandits who’ve been hired to kill Mariko before she reaches the palace.

The lone survivor, Mariko narrowly escapes to the woods, where she plots her revenge. Dressed as a peasant boy, she sets out to infiltrate the Black Clan and hunt down those responsible for the target on her back. Once she’s within their ranks, though, Mariko finds for the first time she’s appreciated for her intellect and abilities. She even finds herself falling in love—a love that will force her to question everything she’s ever known about her family, her purpose, and her deepest desires.

Continue reading “[Book Review #86] Flame In The Mist by Renée Ahdieh”

[Blog Tour Book Review #22] Karmic Hearts by Jhing Bautista

KH_banner

Love. Magic. Fate. Best-selling romance novel author Karmina Joan writes about them all. She believes that every person has a purpose, that every soul has a destiny to fulfill. She thought hers was simply sharing her stories.

Her story unfolds with Cupid, the Angel of Love himself. He brings with him a mysterious vessel and a message from on high. It turns out Karmina has a bigger purpose after all–a mission that will make or break humanity as we know it.

As Cupid teaches her the tricks of his trade, Karmina unknowingly gives him something unexpected in return–something that angel of love will find oddly familiar. This may become the one flaw in an otherwise perfect plan that destiny has in store for them.

Does love truly conquer all or are there limits to what humanity can do in the name of love? Witness as Karmina struggles to find the answer before time runs out on true love.

Continue reading “[Blog Tour Book Review #22] Karmic Hearts by Jhing Bautista”