The Wicked Saints Blog Tour: Excerpt + Pronunciation Guide

WickedSaints_BlogTourBanner_AFTER 4.2.png

Wicked Saints by Emily A. Duncan
Genre: YA Fantasy, Fiction
Publication: April 2nd 2019 by Wednesday Books
Series: Something Dark and Holy #1
Length: 400 pages
Format: e-ARC from Wednesday Book

Amazon || Book Depository
Barnes & Noble

A girl who can speak to gods must save her people without destroying herself.

A prince in danger must decide who to trust.

A boy with a monstrous secret waits in the wings.

Together, they must assassinate the king and stop the war.

In a centuries-long war where beauty and brutality meet, their three paths entwine in a shadowy world of spilled blood and mysterious saints, where a forbidden romance threatens to tip the scales between dark and light. Wicked Saints is the thrilling start to Emily A. Duncan’s devastatingly Gothic Something Dark and Holy trilogy.

Continue reading “The Wicked Saints Blog Tour: Excerpt + Pronunciation Guide”

Review: The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista

BFR (2)

The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista
Genre: YA Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Publication: June 19th 2018 from Swoon Reads
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 240 pages
Format: ARC from the author
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Stella has had a hopeless crush on Will, her older brother’s best friend FOREVER, but now that Cam and Will have graduated and are going off to college, this year is her chance to really strike out on her own. Without her overprotective brother and his sidekick around to distract her, she can focus on having all the typical high school experiences that she’s always dreamed of—starting with finding a boyfriend! With the help of her best friend Franklin, she comes up with the perfect plan to have a boyfriend by Christmas: The Boyfriend Bracket.

Or it seems like the perfect plan…right up until Will starts showing up again. How is she supposed to find the perfect boyfriend when none of her dates measure up to the one boy she can never have?

Continue reading “Review: The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista”

Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

COBB Blog Tour Banner

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Diversity, Magic
Publication: March 6th 2018 by Henry Holt / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Legacy of Orïsha #1.
Length: 600 pages
Format: ARC from Fierce Reads / Macmillan International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Continue reading “Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi”

Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang

The Prince & The Dressmaker_blogtourimage

The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang
Genre
: YA Graphic Novels, Sequential Art, LGBTQIA+
Publication: February 13th 2018 from First Second Books
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 288 pages
Format: e-Galley from Fierce Reads
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Paris, at the dawn of the modern age:

Prince Sebastian is looking for a bride―or rather, his parents are looking for one for him. Sebastian is too busy hiding his secret life from everyone. At night he puts on daring dresses and takes Paris by storm as the fabulous Lady Crystallia―the hottest fashion icon in the world capital of fashion!

Sebastian’s secret weapon (and best friend) is the brilliant dressmaker Frances―one of only two people who know the truth: sometimes this boy wears dresses. But Frances dreams of greatness, and being someone’s secret weapon means being a secret. Forever. How long can Frances defer her dreams to protect a friend? Jen Wang weaves an exuberantly romantic tale of identity, young love, art, and family. A fairy tale for any age, The Prince and the Dressmaker will steal your heart.

Continue reading “Review: The Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang”

[Blog Tour Book Review #20] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich

img_0554

There is a secret organization that cultivates teenage spies. The agents are called Love Interests because getting close to people destined for great power means getting valuable secrets.

Caden is a Nice: The boy next door, sculpted to physical perfection. Dylan is a Bad: The brooding, dark-souled guy, and dangerously handsome. The girl they are competing for is important to the organization, and each boy will pursue her. Will she choose a Nice or the Bad?

Both Caden and Dylan are living in the outside world for the first time. They are well-trained and at the top of their games. They have to be – whoever the girl doesn’t choose will die.

What the boys don’t expect are feelings that are outside of their training. Feelings that could kill them both.

Continue reading “[Blog Tour Book Review #20] The Love Interest by Cale Dietrich”