Review: The Impossibility of Us by Katy Upperman

BFR (1)

The Impossibility of Us by Katy Upperman
Genre: YA Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Publication: July 31st 2018 by Swoon Reads
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 320 pages
Format: ARC from the publisher
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

The last thing Elise wants is to start her senior year in a new town. But after her brother’s death in Afghanistan, she and her mother move from San Francisco to a sleepy coastal village.

When Elise meets Mati, they quickly discover how much they have in common. Mati is new to town too, visiting the U.S. with his family. Over the course of the summer, their relationship begins to blossom, and what starts out as a friendship becomes so much more.

But as Elise and Mati grow closer, her family becomes more and more uncomfortable with their relationship, and their concerns all center on one fact—Mati is Afghan.

Beautifully written, utterly compelling, and ultimately hopeful, THE IMPOSSIBILITY OF US asks—how brave can you be when your relationship is questioned by everyone you love?

Continue reading “Review: The Impossibility of Us by Katy Upperman”

Review: The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista

BFR (2)

The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista
Genre: YA Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Romance
Publication: June 19th 2018 from Swoon Reads
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 240 pages
Format: ARC from the author
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Stella has had a hopeless crush on Will, her older brother’s best friend FOREVER, but now that Cam and Will have graduated and are going off to college, this year is her chance to really strike out on her own. Without her overprotective brother and his sidekick around to distract her, she can focus on having all the typical high school experiences that she’s always dreamed of—starting with finding a boyfriend! With the help of her best friend Franklin, she comes up with the perfect plan to have a boyfriend by Christmas: The Boyfriend Bracket.

Or it seems like the perfect plan…right up until Will starts showing up again. How is she supposed to find the perfect boyfriend when none of her dates measure up to the one boy she can never have?

Continue reading “Review: The Boyfriend Bracket by Kate Evangelista”

Stacking The Shelves: March 2018

BFR (18)

March is officially over and April is in full swing! I can’t believe we’re already a quarter of a way through with 2018. Last month, I was able to read a total of 7 amazing titles (you may check out the titles I read and loved over at Arctic Books for our March recap), and of course, other than reading through my endless TBR, I also acquired a sh*t ton of exciting new titles! (National Book Store, you’re such an enabler. Thank you for the well-timed Super Summer Sale!) Anyway, without further ado, let’s get this book haul started. We have a lot to cover. *laughs*

Continue reading “Stacking The Shelves: March 2018”

Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

COBB Blog Tour Banner

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Diversity, Magic
Publication: March 6th 2018 by Henry Holt / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Legacy of Orïsha #1.
Length: 600 pages
Format: ARC from Fierce Reads / Macmillan International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Continue reading “Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi”

Event Recap #25: The #MIBF2017 Experience feat. #JennyandSiobhaninPH Recap + Book Haul

BFR (1)

Hi, you guys! So just last week, from September 13 to 17, bibliophiles from all parts of the nation came together for the annual Manila International Book Fair at the SMX Convention Center, where book-selling exhibitors basically flaunted all their amazing books and other bookish merchandise perfect for all kinds of readers. The 5-day fair had everything that a typical reader can possibly hope for: discounted books, book launches, signing events, and guest appearances from bestselling authors. It was heaven, I tell you. Luckily, this time around, I had the time, budget, and energy to go to the fair on the FIRST and LAST day! Read on for a brief recap of my experience at the 2017 Manila International Book Fair!

Continue reading “Event Recap #25: The #MIBF2017 Experience feat. #JennyandSiobhaninPH Recap + Book Haul”