Blog Tour Review: Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

Header (Spin the Dawn)

Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Magic
Publication: July 9th 2019 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Series: The Blood of Stars #1
Length: 416 pages
Format: ARC from Penguin Random House International
Rating: ★★★★.5

Amazon || Book Depository
Barnes & Noble

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim”

Blog Tour Review: Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

PSN BANNER.jpg

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay
Genre: YA Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, #ownvoices
Publication: June 18th 2019 by Kokila
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 320 pages
Format: ARC from Penguin Random House International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository
Barnes & Noble

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder.

Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of President Duterte’s war on drugs, and no one in the family wants to talk about what happened, Jay travels to the Philippines to find out the real story.

Hoping to uncover more about Jun and the events that led to his death, Jay is forced to reckon with the many sides of his cousin before he can face the whole horrible truth — and the part he played in it.

As gripping as it is lyrical, Patron Saints of Nothing is a page-turning portrayal of the struggle to reconcile faith, family, and immigrant identity.  Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay”

#PatronSaintsPHTour – Official Launch

PSN BANNER

I can’t believe the world’s about to finally meet Jay Reguero. Reading his story has meant a great deal for me, and I’m sure that’s a recurring thing that you’ll notice in most, if not all, of the blog tour posts that are to be published for this initiative. Randy Ribay’s writing in PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING is immersive, and so unflinchingly raw and honest, and I’m yet to meet a reader who was not touched by this #ownvoices novel. And now, without further ado, I’d like to welcome you all to the Patron Saints of Nothing PH Blog Tour. To get things started, I have Randy Ribay here on Book Freak Revelations today to talk about how Jay’s story came to be, so please read on!

Continue reading “#PatronSaintsPHTour – Official Launch”

Blog Tour Review: Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi

GIRL GONE VIRAL BANNER

Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi
Genre: YA Science Fiction, Gaming, Virtual Reality
Publication: May 21st 2019 by Viking Books for Young Readers
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 384 pages
Format: ARC from Penguin Random House International
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository
Barnes & Noble

For seventeen-year-old Opal Hopper, code is magic. She builds entire worlds from scratch: Mars craters, shimmering lakes, any virtual experience her heart desires.

But she can’t code her dad back into her life. When he disappeared after her tenth birthday, leaving only a cryptic note, Opal tried desperately to find him. And when he never turned up, she enrolled at a boarding school for technical prodigies and tried to forget.

Until now. Because WAVE, the world’s biggest virtual reality platform, has announced a contest where the winner gets to meet its billionaire founder. The same billionaire who worked closely with Opal’s dad. The one she always believed might know where he went. The one who maybe even murdered him.

What begins as a small data hack to win the contest spirals out of control when Opal goes viral, digging her deeper into a hole of lies, hacks, and manipulation. How far will Opal go for the answers–or is it the attention–she’s wanted for years?

Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Girl Gone Viral by Arvin Ahmadi”

#GirlGoneViralTour – Official Launch

GIRL GONE VIRAL BANNER

Today’s the first day of the Girl Gone Viral Blog Tour and so to officially kick things off, I have Arvin Ahmadi here today to welcome and share with y’all just a few words on what writing Girl Gone Viral has meant for him. Arvin is a talented writer with an innate talent of  telling stories that will no doubt move readers and make them think. I read and hosted a different tour for his debut, Down and Across, last 2017 and it has been such an honor working for and with Arvin and his publisher, Penguin Random House. I can’t even begin to express just how much I enjoy doing this for them, and so let’s get this blog tour started!

Continue reading “#GirlGoneViralTour – Official Launch”