Review: Reign of The Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

BFR (3)

Reign of The Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, LGBTQIA+
Publication: January 23, 2018 from Razorbill
Series: Reign of The Fallen #1
Length: 384 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their souls from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised–the Dead must remain shrouded, or risk transforming into zombie-like monsters known as Shades. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, the grotesque transformation will begin.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears among Odessa’s necromancer community. Soon a crushing loss of one of their own reveals a disturbing conspiracy: someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is faced with a terrifying question: What if her necromancer’s magic is the weapon that brings Karthia to its knees?

Continue reading “Review: Reign of The Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh”

Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

BFR (3)

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Genre
: YA Contemporary, Diverse, Coming-of-age
Publication: January 16th 2018 from Soho Teen
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 288 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?

Continue reading “Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed”

Review: Nice Try, Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke

BFR (1)

Nice Try, Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke
Genre: YA Contemporary, Coming of Age, Realistic Fiction
Publication: January 9, 2018 from Clarion Books
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 432 pages
Format: ARC from publisher
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

The only thing 17-year-old Jane Sinner hates more than failure is pity. After a personal crisis and her subsequent expulsion from high school, she’s going nowhere fast. Jane’s well-meaning parents push her to attend a high school completion program at the nearby Elbow River Community College, and she agrees, on one condition: she gets to move out.

Jane tackles her housing problem by signing up for House of Orange, a student-run reality show that is basically Big Brother, but for Elbow River Students. Living away from home, the chance to win a car (used, but whatever), and a campus full of people who don’t know what she did in high school… what more could she want? Okay, maybe a family that understands why she’d rather turn to Freud than Jesus to make sense of her life, but she’ll settle for fifteen minutes in the proverbial spotlight.

As House of Orange grows from a low-budget web series to a local TV show with fans and shoddy T-shirts, Jane finally has the chance to let her cynical, competitive nature thrive. She’ll use her growing fan base, and whatever Intro to Psychology can teach her, to prove to the world—or at least viewers of substandard TV—that she has what it takes to win.

Continue reading “Review: Nice Try, Jane Sinner by Lianne Oelke”

ARC Review: Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu + Giveaway

BFR

Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu
Genre: YA Fantasy, Retelling, Adventure
Publication: January 2, 2018 from Random House Books for Young Readers
Series: DC Icons Series #2
Length: 252 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Before he was Batman, he was Bruce Wayne. A reckless boy willing to break the rules for a girl who may be his worst enemy.

The Nightwalkers are terrorizing Gotham City, and Bruce Wayne is next on their list.

One by one, the city’s elites are being executed as their mansions’ security systems turn against them, trapping them like prey. Meanwhile, Bruce is turning eighteen and about to inherit his family’s fortune, not to mention the keys to Wayne Enterprises and all the tech gadgetry his heart could ever desire. But after a run-in with the police, he’s forced to do community service at Arkham Asylum, the infamous prison that holds the city’s most brutal criminals.

Madeleine Wallace is a brilliant killer . . . and Bruce’s only hope.

In Arkham, Bruce meets Madeleine, a brilliant girl with ties to the Nightwalkers. What is she hiding? And why will she speak only to Bruce? Madeleine is the mystery Bruce must unravel. But is he getting her to divulge her secrets, or is he feeding her the information she needs to bring Gotham City to its knees? Bruce will walk the dark line between trust and betrayal as the Nightwalkers circle closer.

Continue reading “ARC Review: Batman: Nightwalker by Marie Lu + Giveaway”

Book Freak Revelations’ Top Ten Books of 2017

BFR (5)

Can you guys actually believe that we only have 4 days left before the end of 2017? It’s as if it was just yesterday when I was drafting an entirely similar post dedicated to my most favorite reads of 2016, and now here I am, coming up with a new one that’s all about my favorite books of 2017. I can’t even begin to express just how relieved I am to finally be starting a new chapter of my life come 2018.

I’m excited for all the books that I’ll (for sure) be reading, for all the authors that I’ll be supporting, and for all the events that I’ll be going to.  But before anticipating these, I want to take this chance to celebrate all the well-recommended titles that I came to read this year. Let’s get this post started!

Continue reading “Book Freak Revelations’ Top Ten Books of 2017”