[Book Review #39] The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

BOOK REVIEWSIMG_4812

A fun, romantic read, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen and Susane Colasanti!

Before Matt, Ella had a plan. Get over a no-good ex-boyfriend. Graduate from high school without any more distractions. Move away from Orlando, Florida, where she’s lived her entire life.

But Matt—the cute, shy, bespectacled bass player who just moved to town—was never part of that plan.

And neither was attending a party that was crashed by the cops just minutes after they arrived. Or spending an entire night saying “yes” to every crazy, fun thing they could think of.

Then Matt abruptly left town, and he broke not only Ella’s heart but those of their best friends, too. So when he shows up a year later with a plan of his own—to relive the night that brought them together—Ella isn’t sure whether Matt’s worth a second chance. Or if re-creating the past can help them create a different future.

In alternating then and now chapters, debut author Lauren Gibaldi crafts a charming, romantic story of first loves, lifelong friendships, uncovered secrets, and, ultimately, finding out how to be brave.

Book Specifications:

Author: Lauren Gibaldi

Format: Hardcover

Part of a Series: No.

Release Date: June 16, 2015

Publisher: HarperTeen

No. of Pages: 304 pages

Price: 684.00Php

Genre: Romance, Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, Chick Lit, Summer Romance

Book Review:

The Cover: Featuring a silhouette of 4 friends bonding out while witnessing a sunset, the cover of this debut novel by Lauren Gibaldi is totally relevant. I’m a big fan of covers that give readers a peak as to what the story is about, and this is perfect! And I absolutely adore the spunky font style used to etch out the title! Very attractive indeed! (4.5 out of 5 stars)

The Story: The story was, in every way, reminiscent as to how a teenager should feel like when they fall in love for the first time. That’s what it did for me. That’s what got me interested. When I browsed Epic Reads for their Anticipated June Titles, and saw and read the synopsis of this book, I immediately feel connected to it. I experienced the same thing Ella did. I know the feeling of being left behind without prior notice. So I wanted to read this book. And it didn’t disappoint. The story was told in alternating Then and Now Chapters, which I thought at first, was going to confuse me, but it didn’t. The pacing was fast and I had no trouble connecting to the characters and their individual stories. This story is very candid, and it’s a type of book one would recommend to a person who’s just experienced falling in love. And they WILL love it. (4 out of 5 stars)

The Ending: *This part is filled with spoilers. I suggest you skip this part if you don’t want to cry later on.*  Everything is as it should be. For a novel about second chance romance, The Night We Said Yes certainly delivered. Ella found the love of her life. Again. And this time, it looks like Matt intends to stick around. I have to say, it was pretty predictable, but I still loved it nonetheless. What made me so happy to read and finish this book was the fact that not everyone gets a second chance. As per Auburn Mason Reed from Colleen Hoover’s Confess: “Sometimes, things just end.” And I am so glad that Ella and Matt got their second shot at happiness. Everything, as I’ve said earlier, is as it should be. (4 out of 5 stars)


The Verdict: I have to admit. The sole reason of my buying, reading, and reviewing this book is because I can relate to the story. I, too, have an experience in having been left behind. The difference is that I didn’t get my second chance. That’s why this book really left a mark on me. I recommend it to those who have had their hearts broken but are still waiting for their second chances. You WILL love this book! (4.17 out of 5 stars)

Quotable Quotes:

“And inside I want to cry because he’s here. And him being here proved it all happened.” – Ella

“I need to get away and try something new. You can only be hurt in a town so many times before giving up on it.” – Ella

” I wanted us to be just the way we were. I needed us to be just the way we were– it was the only thing keeping me together when everything else was going to hell. You were that important to me. You still are.” – Matt

“I’ve spent my life on the road, trying to find home, when really, you were always home to me.” – Matt

“It was my favorite part of the night – when the evening’s events were still unknown and unpredictable. It was the sense of possibility that I loved, the idea that anything could happen next.” – Ella

FOOTER

One thought on “[Book Review #39] The Night We Said Yes by Lauren Gibaldi

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s