Blog Tour Review: Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen

RTE_blogtour_small.jpg

Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Fiction
Publication: January 30th 2018 from Bloomsbury
Series: The Elementae #1
Length: 448 pages
Format: ARC from publisher
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Shalia is a proud daughter of the desert, but after years of devastating war with the adjoining kingdom, her people are desperate for peace. Willing to trade her freedom to ensure the safety of her family, Shalia becomes Queen of the Bonelands.

But she soon learns that her husband, Calix, is motivated only by his desire to exterminate the Elementae—mystical people who can control earth, wind, air, and fire. Even more unsettling are Shalia’s feelings for her husband’s brother, which unleash a power over the earth she never knew she possessed—a power that could get her killed. As rumors of a rebellion against Calix spread, Shalia must choose between the last chance for peace and her own future as an Elementae.

This intense, richly drawn high-fantasy by the author of Scarletwill hold readers spellbound.

Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Reign the Earth by A.C. Gaughen”

Stacking The Shelves: January 2018 Book Haul

BFR (14)

It’s been a constant attempt of mine to try and start off the year ahead with a strong and impressionable reading experience to set a standard. Call me too traditional but this actually helps me keep track of my reading challenge/s. And I’m so grateful to have been able to partner with different publishers and authors this January. I received some amazing titles, some of which I already read, and I honestly can’t wait to start reading everything. Let’s get this book haul post started, shall we?

Continue reading “Stacking The Shelves: January 2018 Book Haul”

Review: Daughter of The Pirate King by by Tricia Levenseller

BFR (7)

Daughter of The Pirate King by Tricia Levenseller
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Pirates
Publication: February 28th 2017 by Feiwel & Friends / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Daughter of The Pirate King #1.
Length: 308 pages
Format: Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

There will be plenty of time for me to beat him soundly once I’ve gotten what I came for.

Sent on a mission to retrieve an ancient hidden map—the key to a legendary treasure trove—seventeen-year-old pirate captain Alosa deliberately allows herself to be captured by her enemies, giving her the perfect opportunity to search their ship.

More than a match for the ruthless pirate crew, Alosa has only one thing standing between her and the map: her captor, the unexpectedly clever and unfairly attractive first mate, Riden. But not to worry, for Alosa has a few tricks up her sleeve, and no lone pirate can stop the Daughter of the Pirate King.

Continue reading “Review: Daughter of The Pirate King by by Tricia Levenseller”

Review: Reign of The Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh

BFR (3)

Reign of The Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, LGBTQIA+
Publication: January 23, 2018 from Razorbill
Series: Reign of The Fallen #1
Length: 384 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

Odessa is one of Karthia’s master necromancers, catering to the kingdom’s ruling Dead. Whenever a noble dies, it’s Odessa’s job to raise them by retrieving their souls from a dreamy and dangerous shadow world called the Deadlands. But there is a cost to being raised–the Dead must remain shrouded, or risk transforming into zombie-like monsters known as Shades. If even a hint of flesh is exposed, the grotesque transformation will begin.

A dramatic uptick in Shade attacks raises suspicions and fears among Odessa’s necromancer community. Soon a crushing loss of one of their own reveals a disturbing conspiracy: someone is intentionally creating Shades by tearing shrouds from the Dead–and training them to attack. Odessa is faced with a terrifying question: What if her necromancer’s magic is the weapon that brings Karthia to its knees?

Continue reading “Review: Reign of The Fallen by Sarah Glenn Marsh”

Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed

BFR (3)

Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed
Genre
: YA Contemporary, Diverse, Coming-of-age
Publication: January 16th 2018 from Soho Teen
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 288 pages
Format: ARC
Rating: ★★★★☆

Amazon || Book Depository

A searing #OwnVoices coming-of-age debut in which an Indian-American Muslim teen confronts Islamophobia and a reality she can neither explain nor escape–perfect for fans of Angie Thomas, Jacqueline Woodson, and Adam Silvera.

Maya Aziz is torn between futures: the one her parents expect for their good Indian daughter (i.e.; staying nearby in Chicago and being matched with a “suitable” Muslim boy), and the one where she goes to film school in New York City–and maybe, just maybe, kisses a guy she’s only known from afar. There’s the also the fun stuff, like laughing with her best friend Violet, making on-the-spot documentaries, sneaking away for private swimming lessons at a secret pond in the woods. But her world is shattered when a suicide bomber strikes in the American heartland; by chance, he shares Maya’s last name. What happens to the one Muslim family in town when their community is suddenly consumed with hatred and fear?

Continue reading “Review: Love, Hate & Other Filters by Samira Ahmed”