Review: Far From the Tree by Robin Benway


Far from the Tree by Robin Benway
: YA Contemporary, Coming of Age, Realistic Fiction
Publication: October 3rd 2017 from HarperTeen
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 384 pages
Format: eARC from HarperCollins International / Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

A contemporary novel about three adopted siblings who find each other at just the right moment.

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including—

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she’s quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family’s long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can’t help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he’s learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can’t hurt anyone but him.

Continue reading “Review: Far From the Tree by Robin Benway”

Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

COBB Blog Tour Banner

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Diversity, Magic
Publication: March 6th 2018 by Henry Holt / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Legacy of Orïsha #1.
Length: 600 pages
Format: ARC from Fierce Reads / Macmillan International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Continue reading “Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi”

Book + Audiobook Review: Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

BFR (17)

Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction, LGBTQIA+
Publication: October 3rd 2017 by Picador (first published January 23rd 2007)
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 248 pages
Format: Movie Tie-in Paperback from National Bookstore, Audiobook Program from Macmillan Audio
Rating: ★★★★

National Bookstore || Book Depository

Andre Aciman’s Call Me by Your Name is the story of a sudden and powerful romance that blossoms between an adolescent boy and a summer guest at his parents’ cliffside mansion on the Italian Riviera. Each is unprepared for the consequences of their attraction, when, during the restless summer weeks, unrelenting currents of obsession, fascination, and desire intensify their passion and test the charged ground between them. Recklessly, the two verge toward the one thing both fear they may never truly find again: total intimacy. It is an instant classic and one of the great love stories of our time.

Continue reading “Book + Audiobook Review: Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman”

Review: Daughter of The Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller

BFR (2)

Daughter of The Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Pirates
Publication: February 27th 2018 by Feiwel & Friends / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Daughter of The Pirate King #2.
Length: 352 pages
Format: Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Alosa’s mission is finally complete. Not only has she recovered all three pieces of the map to a legendary hidden treasure, but the pirates who originally took her captive are now prisoners on her ship. Still unfairly attractive and unexpectedly loyal, first mate Riden is a constant distraction, but now he’s under her orders. And she takes great comfort in knowing that the villainous Vordan will soon be facing her father’s justice.

When Vordan exposes a secret her father has kept for years, Alosa and her crew find themselves in a deadly race with the feared Pirate King. Despite the danger, Alosa knows they will recover the treasure first . . . after all, she is the daughter of the Siren Queen.

Continue reading “Review: Daughter of The Siren Queen by Tricia Levenseller”

Blog Tour Review: Start Here: Short Stories of First Encounters edited by Ronald S. Lim and Brigitte Bautista

Start Here: Short Stories of First Encounters
edited by Ronald S. Lim & Brigitte Bautista
Genre: Anthology, Romance, YA / NA, #ownvoices, LGBTQIA+
Publication: January 27th 2018 by #romanceclass Books
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 271 pages
Format: e-ARC from the tour host
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Print copies in the PH

There’s a first time for everything. Gatecrashing a KPop concert with an oppa in a business suit. Taking shelter from the storm with the girl you’ve been meaning to shake off. That kiss that blurs the line between friendship and something more. A one-night stand (or, is it?) with your best friend from across the hallway.

Dive into these 10 stories of first encounters – unapologetically queer, happy endings required, with a smattering of that signature #romanceclass kilig. Whether you’re recalling your own firsts or out there looking for one, there’s a story in here for you.

So, go on.

Turn the page.

Start here.

(Edited by Ronald S. Lim and Brigitte Bautista. Featuring short stories by Agay Llanera, H. Bentham, Ella Banta, Danice Sison, Yeyet Soriano, Barbie Barbieto, Katt Briones, Bobbi Moran, Motzie Dapul, and Brigitte Bautista. This anthology contains M/M, F/F, F/NB romance stories with happy endings. Some stories have a high heat level.)

Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Start Here: Short Stories of First Encounters edited by Ronald S. Lim and Brigitte Bautista”