Blog Tour Review: Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim

Header (Spin the Dawn)

Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Magic
Publication: July 9th 2019 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers
Series: The Blood of Stars #1
Length: 416 pages
Format: ARC from Penguin Random House International
Rating: ★★★★.5

Amazon || Book Depository
Barnes & Noble

Project Runway meets Mulan in this sweeping YA fantasy about a young girl who poses as a boy to compete for the role of imperial tailor and embarks on an impossible journey to sew three magic dresses, from the sun, the moon, and the stars.

Maia Tamarin dreams of becoming the greatest tailor in the land, but as a girl, the best she can hope for is to marry well. When a royal messenger summons her ailing father, once a tailor of renown, to court, Maia poses as a boy and takes his place. She knows her life is forfeit if her secret is discovered, but she’ll take that risk to achieve her dream and save her family from ruin. There’s just one catch: Maia is one of twelve tailors vying for the job.

Backstabbing and lies run rampant as the tailors compete in challenges to prove their artistry and skill. Maia’s task is further complicated when she draws the attention of the court magician, Edan, whose piercing eyes seem to see straight through her disguise.

And nothing could have prepared her for the final challenge: to sew three magic gowns for the emperor’s reluctant bride-to-be, from the laughter of the sun, the tears of the moon, and the blood of stars. With this impossible task before her, she embarks on a journey to the far reaches of the kingdom, seeking the sun, the moon, and the stars, and finding more than she ever could have imagined.

Steeped in Chinese culture, sizzling with forbidden romance, and shimmering with magic, this young adult fantasy is pitch-perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas or Renée Ahdieh.

Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Spin The Dawn by Elizabeth Lim”

Event Recap: #RandyRibayinPH

BFR.png

I don’t think I’ll ever have the words to fully describe just how much I enjoyed my time as one of the people hosting Randy Ribay’s book launch for Patron Saints of Nothing last Sunday. Being able to work closely with the author, the publisher, and the whole Bookworms Unite PH team is hands down one of the highlights of my 2019 so far, and even though I’m not sure if I’ll do the experience justice, I would certainly like to try. So! Without further ado, let’s get this recap started!

Continue reading “Event Recap: #RandyRibayinPH”

Blog Tour Review: Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay

PSN BANNER.jpg

Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay
Genre: YA Contemporary, Realistic Fiction, #ownvoices
Publication: June 18th 2019 by Kokila
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 320 pages
Format: ARC from Penguin Random House International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository
Barnes & Noble

A powerful coming-of-age story about grief, guilt, and the risks a Filipino-American teenager takes to uncover the truth about his cousin’s murder.

Jay Reguero plans to spend the last semester of his senior year playing video games before heading to the University of Michigan in the fall. But when he discovers that his Filipino cousin Jun was murdered as part of President Duterte’s war on drugs, and no one in the family wants to talk about what happened, Jay travels to the Philippines to find out the real story.

Hoping to uncover more about Jun and the events that led to his death, Jay is forced to reckon with the many sides of his cousin before he can face the whole horrible truth — and the part he played in it.

As gripping as it is lyrical, Patron Saints of Nothing is a page-turning portrayal of the struggle to reconcile faith, family, and immigrant identity.  Continue reading “Blog Tour Review: Patron Saints of Nothing by Randy Ribay”

#PatronSaintsPHTour – Official Launch

PSN BANNER

I can’t believe the world’s about to finally meet Jay Reguero. Reading his story has meant a great deal for me, and I’m sure that’s a recurring thing that you’ll notice in most, if not all, of the blog tour posts that are to be published for this initiative. Randy Ribay’s writing in PATRON SAINTS OF NOTHING is immersive, and so unflinchingly raw and honest, and I’m yet to meet a reader who was not touched by this #ownvoices novel. And now, without further ado, I’d like to welcome you all to the Patron Saints of Nothing PH Blog Tour. To get things started, I have Randy Ribay here on Book Freak Revelations today to talk about how Jay’s story came to be, so please read on!

Continue reading “#PatronSaintsPHTour – Official Launch”

Cover Reveal: Harley In The Sky by Akemi Dawn Bowman

BFR

Hi friends! Quickly dropping by to share with y’all the cover reveal of one of my most anticipated books for 2020 written by the uber-talented Akemi Dawn Bowman, author of William C. Morris Award Finalist Starfish, and  Summer Bird Blue. Her upcoming novel, Harley In The Sky, is slated for a March 10, 2020 release from Simon Pulse. As a member of the Harley In The Sky Street Team, I’ve already seen this quite a couple of times but I never get tired of gazing at it’s gorgeousness. Read on to see the official cover and synopsis, revealed exclusively by Paste Magazine!

Continue reading “Cover Reveal: Harley In The Sky by Akemi Dawn Bowman”