Review: Lucky In Love by Kasie West

BFR (15)

Lucky in Love by Kasie West
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction
Publication: July 25th 2017 by Scholastic
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 337 pages
Format: Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Can’t buy me love…

Maddie’s not impulsive. She’s all about hard work and planning ahead. But one night, on a whim, she buys a lottery ticket. And then, to her astonishment—

She wins!

In a flash, Maddie’s life is unrecognizable. No more stressing about college scholarships. Suddenly, she’s talking about renting a yacht. And being in the spotlight at school is fun…until rumors start flying, and random people ask her for loans. Now Maddie isn’t sure who she can trust.

Except for Seth Nguyen, her funny, charming coworker at the local zoo. Seth doesn’t seem aware of Maddie’s big news. And, for some reason, she doesn’t want to tell him. But what will happen if he learns her secret?

Continue reading “Review: Lucky In Love by Kasie West”

Stacking The Shelves: March 2018

BFR (18)

March is officially over and April is in full swing! I can’t believe we’re already a quarter of a way through with 2018. Last month, I was able to read a total of 7 amazing titles (you may check out the titles I read and loved over at Arctic Books for our March recap), and of course, other than reading through my endless TBR, I also acquired a sh*t ton of exciting new titles! (National Book Store, you’re such an enabler. Thank you for the well-timed Super Summer Sale!) Anyway, without further ado, let’s get this book haul started. We have a lot to cover. *laughs*

Continue reading “Stacking The Shelves: March 2018”

Review: Far From the Tree by Robin Benway

BFR

Far from the Tree by Robin Benway
Genre
: YA Contemporary, Coming of Age, Realistic Fiction
Publication: October 3rd 2017 from HarperTeen
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 384 pages
Format: eARC from HarperCollins International / Hardcover
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

A contemporary novel about three adopted siblings who find each other at just the right moment.

Being the middle child has its ups and downs.

But for Grace, an only child who was adopted at birth, discovering that she is a middle child is a different ride altogether. After putting her own baby up for adoption, she goes looking for her biological family, including—

Maya, her loudmouthed younger bio sister, who has a lot to say about their newfound family ties. Having grown up the snarky brunette in a house full of chipper redheads, she’s quick to search for traces of herself among these not-quite-strangers. And when her adopted family’s long-buried problems begin to explode to the surface, Maya can’t help but wonder where exactly it is that she belongs.

And Joaquin, their stoic older bio brother, who has no interest in bonding over their shared biological mother. After seventeen years in the foster care system, he’s learned that there are no heroes, and secrets and fears are best kept close to the vest, where they can’t hurt anyone but him.

Continue reading “Review: Far From the Tree by Robin Benway”

Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi

COBB Blog Tour Banner

Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi
Genre: YA Fantasy, Action, Adventure, Diversity, Magic
Publication: March 6th 2018 by Henry Holt / Macmillan USA
Series: Yes. Legacy of Orïsha #1.
Length: 600 pages
Format: ARC from Fierce Reads / Macmillan International
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazon || Book Depository

Tomi Adeyemi conjures a stunning world of dark magic and danger in her West African-inspired fantasy debut, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zelie’s Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were targeted and killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now, Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers—and her growing feelings for the enemy.

Continue reading “Now We Rise Blog Tour Review: Children of Blood and Bone by Tomi Adeyemi”

Book + Audiobook Review: Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman

BFR (17)

Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman
Genre: YA Contemporary, Romance, Realistic Fiction, LGBTQIA+
Publication: October 3rd 2017 by Picador (first published January 23rd 2007)
Series: None. Standalone.
Length: 248 pages
Format: Movie Tie-in Paperback from National Bookstore, Audiobook Program from Macmillan Audio
Rating: ★★★★

National Bookstore || Book Depository

Andre Aciman’s Call Me by Your Name is the story of a sudden and powerful romance that blossoms between an adolescent boy and a summer guest at his parents’ cliffside mansion on the Italian Riviera. Each is unprepared for the consequences of their attraction, when, during the restless summer weeks, unrelenting currents of obsession, fascination, and desire intensify their passion and test the charged ground between them. Recklessly, the two verge toward the one thing both fear they may never truly find again: total intimacy. It is an instant classic and one of the great love stories of our time.

Continue reading “Book + Audiobook Review: Call Me By Your Name by André Aciman”